The Archdiocese of Birmingham - The Parish of the Immaculate Conception

Forthcoming Events in the Parish

Beginning Sunday, 114th May 2017 ~ Fifth Sunday of Easter

Lectionary - Sundays Year A, Weekdays Year 1

 

 


I sincerely thank everyone who supported and was involved in organising our liturgical, social and fundraising events over the past 12 months. Together as a community we came together celebrated and enjoyed. Another exciting year ahead of us will provide us many opportunities to come together. So let us build our community together as a faith community.
 
Fr. John Y. Batthula, Parish Priest.
 
Weekday Mass times are subject to change according to circumstances as they arise. Please check the current week's Newsletter for amendments to the below schedule.   
 

May

Saturday 20th May - 9.00 am Children's Sacramental  Preparation Reconciliation class in The John Paul II Centre - Parents' session

7.00 pm  - Indian Cuisine Evening.Come and try traditional South Indian Cuisine cooked by myself. Indian food for that evening will include a selection of South Indian Food including Samosas, Onion Pakora, Chicken Fry, Papdoms, Lamb & Chicken Curries, Vegetable Curry, Nan Bread and Rice. It has been extremely popular since I started in this parish.

 
Monday, 22nd May  - 7.15 pm Youth Group

Tuesday, 23rd May - Monthly lunch in The John Paul II Centre from 12.00

Wednesday, 24th May - Baptism Preparation Course

Sunday, 28th May - 100 Club Draw

Baptism Rite

June

Sunday, 4th June - Solemnity of Pentecost

Cake and Produce sale.

Wednesday, 7th June - Presentation Associates meeting

Friday, 9th June - Coffee morning in The John Paul II Centre from 10.00 am

Saturday, 10th June - 9.00 am Children's Sacramental  Preparation Reconciliation class in The John Paul II Centre

Monday, 12th June - 7.15 pm Youth Group
 
Friday 16th June  - Summer Fayre. The Fayre will take place in and around school grounds. It will commence at 5.00 pm and I would like to see all children and their families participating at this Fayre to make it an enjoyable event as well as raise lots of money.
 
 

Saturday, 17th June - 9.00 am Children's Sacramental  Preparation Reconciliation practice session in the church

Sunday, 18th June - 11.00 am Corpus Christi Mass and Procession with Benediction in Garth Park

Monday, 19th June - 7.15 pm Youth Group

Wednesday, 21st June - 6.30 pm First Reconciliations

Sunday, 25th June - 100 Club Draw

Monday, 26th June - 7.15 pm Youth Group

Tuesday, 27th June - Monthly lunch in The John Paul II Centre from 12.00

July

Sunday 2nd July - Cake and Produce sale.

The Summer Festival will commence with 11.00 am Mass for everyone including children & their families who this year have been Confirmed, made their First Holy Communion & First Confession. Soon after Mass, a variety of foods such as BBQ, and an Indian Take-away will be available as well as, stalls, face painting and other things you find at a festival. This event is for the whole Parish & our schools. The children will be presented with their certificates after lunch.

Wednesday, 5th July - Presentation Associates meeting
Monday, 10th July - 7.15 pm Youth Group
Friday, 7th July - Coffee morning in The John Paul II Centre from 10.00 am
Monday, 17th July - 7.15 pm Youth Group
Wednesday, 19th July - Baptism Preparation Course
Sunday, 23rd July - Baptism Rite

Tuesday, 25th July - Monthly lunch in The John Paul II Centre from 12.00

Sunday, 30th July - 100 Club Draw

August

Wednesday, 2nd August - Presentation Associates meeting

Friday, 11th August - Coffee morning in The John Paul II Centre from 10.00 am

Tuesday, 22nd August - Monthly lunch in The John Paul II Centre from 12.00

Sunday, 27th August - 100 Club Draw

September

Sunday, 3rd September - Cake and Produce sale.

Wednesday , 6th September - Presentation Associates meeting

Friday, 8th September - Coffee morning in The John Paul II Centre from 10.00 am

Friday 22nd, Saturday 23rd, Sunday 24th September - This Year in September Jackie Flynn is going to organize Flower Festival and I would like to see that many of you will come forward to cooperate and make it a a very memorable event. For more information, contact Jackie Flynn.

Sunday 24th September - International Day. Food from around the Globe. Parish & School Communities will come together to celebrate different cultures in our Parish. So at 11.00 am Mass, welcoming words, some parts of the Mass, Hymns and Intercessions will be in different. languages. I would like to ask parishioners to come for-ward to bring their traditional food to share with others. Different languages but professing one Faith that Jesus is the Messiah and Redeemer.

100 Club Draw

Tuesday, 26th September - Monthly lunch in The John Paul II Centre from 12.00

Wednesday, 27th September - Baptism Preparation Course

October

Sunday, 1st October - Baptism Rite
Wednesday, 4th October - Presentation Associates meeting
Sunday, 8th October - Cake and Produce sale.
Friday, 13th October - Coffee morning in The John Paul II Centre from 10.00 am

Tuesday, 24th October - Monthly lunch in The John Paul II Centre from 12.00

Sunday, 29th October - 100 Club Draw

November

Wednesday, 1st November - Presentation Associates meeting
Sunday, 5th November - Cake and Produce sale.
Friday, 10th November - Coffee morning in The John Paul II Centre from 10.00 am

Sunday, 26th November - 100 Club Draw

Tuesday, 28th November - Monthly lunch in The John Paul II Centre from 12.00

Wednesday, 29th November - Baptism Preparation Course

December

 
Saturday 2nd December - The Christmas Bazaar takes place between 11.00 am and 3.00 pm. All the usual stalls will be there, a BBQ, Father Christmas will be there giving presents to all the children! There will be Christmas Arts and Crafts for the children to make. Please let me know if you can help on a stall , or add your names to the list at the back of church. Lots of donations for the various stalls will be needed please! The annual Christmas Raffle at £5 for 5 tickets will commence in November.
 
Sunday, 3rd December - Baptism Rite
Wednesday, 6th December - Presentation Associates meeting
Friday, 8th December - Coffee morning in The John Paul II Centre from 10.00 am

Sunday 24th December - Christmas Raffle Draw. This is another good fundraising event, which doesn't require a lot of time but it does help to raise funds for the Parish. So Christmas Raffle tickets will be available from the month of November, the draw will take place at Coffee morning after 11.00 am Mass on Sunday 24th December 2017. I would hope that if everyone who comes to Church buys a book, we could raise £2000 but we don’t. So please can you support generously? Would you like to donate one of the Raffle prizes?